Grassland and rolling hills beneath a cloudy blue sky
Evidence profile · City of Chestermere

Beacon Chestermere AI Data Center Hub

A proposed phased data centre campus in southern Chestermere.

Illustrative landscape · Sevgi Gümüş / Pexels
← Alberta data centre project list
Developer Beacon Data CentersView on project map ↗

Pt. N ½ 35-23-28-W4, southern Chestermere · Map precision: Exact site

Land-use approval is in place. A project-specific development permit and permission to build have not been verified; final power, cooling, and water arrangements remain unconfirmed.

Campus power≈400 MWProposed full-build capacity, not operating use [3][9]
Water demandNot disclosedCooling and supply unconfirmed [6][7]
Sound levelsNot publishedNo project-specific assessment found [6][7]
Operating jobs300+ claimedProponent projection, not observed employment [3][2]
EmissionsNot publishedNo project-specific annual estimate found [6][7]
Subject lands≈310 acresRedesignated to Business Park / Light Industrial [6]

Where it stands

Municipal planningBylaw approvedApril 1, 2025 · Bylaw 014-25 [6][8]
Development permitNot verifiedSeparate permit and development agreement required [8][6]
Grid connectionLikely queue matchAESO P3107; applicant not disclosed, connection not verified [10]

Separate approval tracks, not a construction progress bar. Record last verified 2026-11-03.

Want to get involved?

The recorded public hearing was April 1, 2025. The existing record does not establish a current participation window. The approval history and municipal sources below explain the decisions still required. See the approval and participation record ↓

Federal principles: Beacon Data Centers is listed as a signatory to Canada's five responsible data-centre development principles. This is a company commitment, not a project approval or permit condition. What the five principles mean →

Power and emissionsCampus demand, electricity supply, and emissions evidence

Beacon's municipal presentation, its stated AESO application, and the AESO queue entry are evidence of a proposed power path, not a completed or approved connection.

Important distinction: P3107 matches the campus name, Calgary planning area, timing, and 400 MW scale, but AESO does not disclose the applicant. ADCW treats it as a likely match, not independent proof that Beacon holds the request or that the connection is approved.

Full-build scale: Approximately 400 MW. Beacon's phased proposal, not an approved or operating load. No phase schedule, contracted IT load, or operating demand was verified. [3][9] Proponent statement

AESO application claim: Submitted, according to Beacon. Beacon's February 2025 presentation said an interconnection application had been submitted. Submission is not approval. [3] Proponent statement

Likely AESO match: P3107: 400 MW DTS request. AESO lists Chestermere Enterprise A.I. Load in the Calgary planning area, initially as two 200 MW stages. The entry aligns closely with the municipal proposal, but AESO does not name Beacon as applicant. [10][3] Public record

Proposed delivery: Transmission extension and dedicated substation. Beacon described this grid-supply concept in the municipal record. A final route, point of interconnection, approved facilities, cost allocation, and energization date are not public. [7][3] Proponent statement

Backup generationBackup generationBackup generators provide electricity when the normal supply is unavailable. They may also run for testing or maintenance.Installed capacity does not establish continuous operation, annual fuel use, or emissions. Operating hours and permit conditions are separate evidence.Learn more →: Proposed; design not disclosed. Beacon said backup generation would support the campus. Fuel, equipment count, capacity, emissions, testing hours, and permit path were not identified. [7] Proponent statement

Final power path: Not confirmed. No completed grid connection, binding supply agreement, AUC facility approval, or confirmed on-site primary generation plan was found for this campus. [10][8][9] ADCW context

Emissions: Project-specific estimate not published. Bylaw 014-25 requires appropriate emissions controls, but no annual greenhouse-gas estimate or backup-generator air-emissions assessment was identified. [6][7] ADCW context

What remains unresolved

AESO does not name the P3107 applicant, and no approved connection, final transmission route, substation design, energization date, or binding supply agreement was verified.

The final role, fuel, capacity, unit count, operating limits, air emissions, and approval path for backup generation are not public.

No project-specific greenhouse-gas inventory, local air-quality assessment, heat-rejection estimate, or traffic-impact assessment was identified.

Water, cooling, and drainageSupply, demand, wastewater, and servicing

The municipal bylaw creates a future servicing process but does not approve a water source or allocation. Cooling, water demand, wastewater, and stormwater details remain permit-stage unknowns. [6][7]

Cooling technology: Not publicly confirmed. No project-specific cooling selection or heat-rejection design was identified. [7][9] ADCW context

Water demand and source: Not publicly confirmed. No daily or annual demand, water source, allocation, withdrawalWithdrawal, consumption, and dischargeWithdrawal is water taken from a source. Consumption is the portion not returned to the same water system. Discharge is water released after use or treatment.These are different quantities. Check which one a water figure describes before comparing projects.Learn more → authorization, or connection capacity was found. [6][7] ADCW context

Wastewater: Not publicly confirmed. No sanitary volume, discharge route, treatment arrangement, or capacity allocation was identified. [6][7] ADCW context

Stormwater: Professional plan may support higher site coverage. The bylaw caps lot coverage at 60 per cent unless a professional stormwater-management plan supports another figure. This is a planning rule, not an approved project stormwater design. [6] Public record

Municipal servicing: Comprehensive development agreement required. The Development Authority must require an agreement with the City covering municipal services and other necessary matters as a development-permit condition. [6] Public record

What remains unresolved

Cooling technology, water source, allocation, demand, consumption, wastewater, and an approved project stormwater design remain undisclosed.

Sound at nearby communitiesAssessment evidence, controls, and remaining questions

The bylaw requires environmental controls and gives the Development Authority power to require a study, mitigation, and monitoring. These are safeguards for later review, not measured project performance.

Environmental controls: Heat, noise, and emissions controls required. The bylaw sets the requirement but does not specify project limits, equipment, or demonstrated performance. [6] Public record

Noise study: May be required by Development Authority. A qualified professional's attenuation study can be required at permit stage. No completed project-specific assessment was identified. [6][7] Public record

Mitigation and monitoring: May be required. The bylaw allows a mitigation plan and noise-monitoring system if the Development Authority considers them necessary. [6] Public record

What remains unresolved

No completed noise assessment, predicted receptor levels, mitigation specifications, or monitoring plan was found.

Land, wetlands, and wildlifeSite area and the available environmental record

Site: Approximately 310 acres. The affected lands are Pt. N ½ 35-23-28-W4 in southern Chestermere. [6][5] Public record

Indigenous contextTreaty geography, engagement, and consultation evidence

Data centre projects sit within treaty territories and places with longstanding First Nations and Métis connections. Treaty boundaries alone cannot tell us which communities may be affected or how they view a project.

Treaty geography: Treaty 7 territory. Geographic context only. It does not establish consultation, consent, or any community's position on the proposal. [11] ADCW context

Project-specific consultation: Not established in reviewed sources. No public record identifying participating Nations, issues raised, outcomes, or accommodation measures was found. [6][7] ADCW context

What remains unresolved

Project-specific Indigenous consultation participants, concerns, outcomes, and accommodation measures are not established in the reviewed sources.

Approvals and participationSeparate decisions, public participation, and the recorded timeline

Rezoning and adding a permitted use do not authorize construction. The project still requires a development permitDevelopment permitA municipality's approval allows a specified use or development on a particular site, subject to its land-use rules and any conditions.Separate provincial or utility approvals may still be needed. A permit does not establish that construction has begun or that the facility is operating.Learn more → and comprehensive development agreement, plus any building, servicing, utility, and regulatory approvals that apply.

Land-use decision: Bylaw 014-25 passed April 1, 2025. Council gave second and third reading after the public hearing. [6][8] Public record

Permitted use: Data Centre Campus. The bylaw added the defined use to the Business Park / Light Industrial district for the affected site. A separate development permit is still required. [6] Public record

Area structure plan: Not required for this site. On March 11, 2025, Council corrected the legal land description and exempted the approximately 310-acre site in Pt. N ½ 35-23-28-W4 from an area structure plan requirement. [8] Public record

Public hearing: April 1, 2025. Council opened and closed the hearing before giving Bylaw 014-25 second and third reading. [5][8] Public record

Land-use approval: Approximately 310 acres redesignated. The lands changed from Urban Transition to Business Park / Light Industrial, and Data Centre Campus became a permitted use. [6] Public record

Subdivision: Conditionally approved. The City says the subdivision does not determine the future user. A development permit is still required. [1] Public record

Development permit: No application submitted. As checked November 3, 2026, the City says it has received no data-centre development-permit application and has issued no development permit approving construction. [1] Public record

Development agreement: Required before permit issuance. The bylaw requires a comprehensive agreement concerning municipal services and other matters deemed necessary by the Development Authority. [6] Public record

Community-impact measures: Permit-stage discretion. The Development Authority may require mitigation for dust, traffic, noise, and visual effects. Security measures and a fire-safety plan are mandatory. [6] Public record

Recorded timeline

Observed decisions and future dates are kept distinct; projected milestones may change.

February 25, 2025. Beacon presents the proposed Chestermere Enterprise AI Hub to Council. [3][2] Proponent statement

February 26, 2025. AESO records the application date for P3107 Chestermere Enterprise A.I. Load. AESO does not identify the applicant. [10] Public record

March 11, 2025. Council exempts the corrected site from an area structure plan requirement and gives Bylaw 014-25 first reading. [8] Public record

March 18, 2025. Beacon and the City hold a community open house on the land-use application. [4] Public record

April 1, 2025. Council holds the public hearing and passes Bylaw 014-25 at second and third reading. [6][8] Public record

September 7, 2026. ADCW review finds the provincial registry still lists the project as proposed and does not identify a later project-specific development permit or construction approval. [9][8] ADCW context

November 3, 2026. ADCW checks the City’s current-status page: subdivision is conditionally approved, but no data-centre development-permit application has been submitted and no development permit has been approved for construction. [1] Public record

What remains unresolved

The City confirms conditional subdivision approval and no data-centre development-permit application as checked November 3, 2026. Final subdivision conditions, servicing and development agreements, building permits, and a construction schedule remain unverified.

Company and commitmentsScale, projected benefits, and delivery commitments

Investment: More than CA$4 billion claimed. Beacon and the City repeated this estimate. It is not a verified expenditure. [3][2] Proponent projection

Employment: 1,200 construction; 300+ operating jobs claimed. Proponent projections, not observed job counts. [3][2] Proponent projection

Provincial registry status: Proposed. Alberta Major Projects lists completion by 2027, but ADCW does not treat that planning date as an approved construction or operating schedule. [9] Public record

Project overview

Chestermere Council passed Bylaw 014-25 on April 1, 2025, redesignating approximately 310 acres and making a Data Centre Campus a permitted use on the site. That decision establishes land-use eligibility only. As checked November 3, 2026, the City confirms conditional subdivision approval, says the subdivision does not determine the future user, and reports no data-centre development-permit application or approval for construction.

What remains unresolved

The final campus layout, phase sizes, tenant commitments, IT load, construction schedule, and operating date remain unconfirmed.

Beacon's current website does not provide a named Chestermere campus page. That absence is not evidence of cancellation.

Unresolved questions are retained within each relevant topic above.

SourcesOriginal documents and publication details

Source record

Company disclosures establish what the company said, not independent verification of projected outcomes.

  1. Proposed Beacon Data Centre: Current Status and FAQCity of Chestermere · Municipal record · Accessed 2026-11-03
  2. Beacon Data CentreCity of Chestermere · Municipal record · 2025-02-27
  3. Chestermere Enterprise AI Hub presentationBeacon Data Centers / City of Chestermere · Company disclosure · Presented 2025-02-25
  4. Beacon Data Centre Community Open HouseCity of Chestermere · Municipal record · 2025-03-18
  5. Notice of Public Hearing: Bylaw 014-25City of Chestermere · Municipal record · 2025-03-11
  6. Bylaw 014-25: Data Centre Land Use Bylaw AmendmentCity of Chestermere · Municipal record · Passed 2025-04-01
  7. April 1, 2025 Council agenda and engagement summaryCity of Chestermere · Municipal record · 2025-04-01
  8. Resolutions of CouncilCity of Chestermere · Municipal record · Updated through 2026-09-01; accessed 2026-09-07
  9. Beacon Chestermere AI Data Centre HubGovernment of Alberta Major Projects · Government database · Accessed 2026-09-07
  10. Connection Project ReportingAlberta Electric System Operator · Regulator · Accessed 2026-09-07
  11. Treaty Boundary datasetGovernment of Canada Open Government Portal · Government database · Modified 2026-06-29