Grassland and rolling hills beneath a cloudy blue sky
Evidence profile · Leduc County

Beacon Saunders Lake AI Data Center Hub

A proposed 160-acre data centre campus near Saunders Lake in Leduc County.

Illustrative landscape · Sevgi Gümüş / Pexels
← Alberta data centre project list
Developer Beacon Data CentersView on project map ↗

SW 7-50-24-W4M, Leduc County; existing marker approximate · Map precision: Approximate area

Land-use changes are approved, but a development permit and permission to build have not been verified. The 400 MW grid request does not establish secured electricity; cooling, water needs, and sound at nearby communities remain unconfirmed.

Grid request400 MWRequested capacity, not approved or operating demand [4]
Water demandNot disclosedCooling, supply, and wastewater arrangements unconfirmed [5][6]
Sound levelsNot quantifiedNo project-specific assessment in this record [3][5]
Operating jobsNot confirmedNo site-specific estimate verified
EmissionsNot quantifiedPrimary and backup generation designs unconfirmed [5][6]
Subject lands≈160 acresSW 7-50-24-W4M; mapped point remains approximate [1]

Where it stands

Municipal planningLand-use change approvedDecember 10, 2024 · Bylaw 18-24 [2]
Development permitNot verifiedCounty statement dated June 26, 2026; no later permit in record [3]
Grid connectionStage 2 requestAESO P2935; service date under review in September 2026 [4]

Separate approval tracks, not a construction progress bar. Record last verified 2026-09-11.

Want to get involved?

The land-use hearing took place on December 10, 2024. This record does not establish a current participation window. A separate development permit is required; the approvals topic links to the County's recorded requirements and decisions. See the approval and participation record ↓

Federal principles: Beacon Data Centers is listed as a signatory to Canada's five responsible data-centre development principles. This is a company commitment, not a project approval or permit condition. What the five principles mean →

Power and emissionsCampus demand, electricity supply, and emissions evidence

The Alberta Electric System Operator (AESO) records requested grid capacity separately from permission to develop the site.

Important distinction: 400 MW is a grid requestGrid connection requestA request for new or changed electricity delivery capacity through the Alberta Electric System Operator (AESO).Requested capacity is not measured electricity use, a guaranteed connection, or approval to build a data centre.Learn more →, not proof of secured electricity or a confirmed campus build-out.

Grid request: 400 MW. September 2026 list: P2935, Stage 2, with the in-service date under review. No completed connection is established. [4] Public record

Impact on existing power users: Utility assurance required. The County requires an energy-company letter confirming adequate power without affecting other local developments. [3] Public record

Generation and emissions: Not confirmed. No site-specific primary or backup generationBackup generationBackup generators provide electricity when the normal supply is unavailable. They may also run for testing or maintenance.Installed capacity does not establish continuous operation, annual fuel use, or emissions. Operating hours and permit conditions are separate evidence.Learn more → design, fuel, or emissions estimate was located. [5][6] ADCW context

What remains unresolved

A secured power supply, connection date, and final generation or backup design.

Water, cooling, and drainageSupply, demand, wastewater, and servicing

Cooling and water: Not disclosed. No project-specific cooling technology, water volume, supply agreement, or wastewater arrangement was verified. [5][6] ADCW context

What remains unresolved

Cooling, water demand, wastewater, and effects at nearby communities and wetlands.

Sound at nearby communitiesAssessment evidence, controls, and remaining questions

Sound at nearby communities: Not quantified. No project-specific assessment was located. County permit review considers noise, water consumption, and visual impacts. [3][5] ADCW context

Land and site layoutSite footprint and the planning information in the record

Land involved: Approximately 160 acres. The hearing notice identifies SW 7-50-24-W4M. The mapped point remains approximate, not a surveyed boundary. [1] Public record

Indigenous contextTreaty geography, engagement, and consultation evidence

Data centre projects sit within treaty territories and places with longstanding First Nations and Métis connections. Treaty boundaries alone cannot tell us which communities may be affected or how they view a project.

Treaty geography: Treaty 6 territory. Geographic context does not establish consultation, consent, or the positions of affected Indigenous communities. [8] ADCW context

What remains unresolved

A complete project-specific Indigenous consultation record.

Approvals and participationSeparate decisions, public participation, and the recorded timeline

Light Industrial zoning allows a data-centre application to be considered as a discretionary use. A separate development permitDevelopment permitA municipality's approval allows a specified use or development on a particular site, subject to its land-use rules and any conditions.Separate provincial or utility approvals may still be needed. A permit does not establish that construction has begun or that the facility is operating.Learn more → is required.

Land-use decision: Approved December 10, 2024. Bylaw 18-24 received unanimous final reading after Beacon and Stantec presented in support of LA24-004. [2] Public record

What Council approved: Industrial land use. The December decision changed the zoning; it was not a data-centre development permit. [2] Public record

What remains to be verified: Permission to develop. The June 26 County statement remains the latest dated permit-status statement located. That date matters: it is not a new September declaration. [3] ADCW context

Recorded timeline

Observed decisions and future dates are kept distinct; projected milestones may change.

December 10, 2024. Council held the LA24-004 hearing and passed Bylaw 18-24. [2] Public record

June 26, 2026. County-wide update reported no approved data-centre development permits. [3] Public record

September 2026. AESO continues to list the 400 MW request with service timing under review. [4] Public record

What remains unresolved

A project-specific development permit, building approval, and construction start.

Company and commitmentsScale, projected benefits, and delivery commitments

Current project listing: Proposed. Alberta Major Projects says approvals are still being sought; it provides no confirmed construction schedule. [5] Public record

Project overview

Rezoning opens a path for an application; it does not give Beacon permission to build. The County's latest dated statement says no data-centre development permits had been approved as of June 26, 2026. ADCW found no later project-specific permit in this review.

What remains unresolved

Site-specific jobs, municipal revenues, infrastructure costs, and binding delivery dates.

Unresolved questions are retained within each relevant topic above.

SourcesOriginal documents and publication details

Source record

Company disclosures establish what the company said, not independent verification of projected outcomes.

  1. Public hearing: Application LA24-004Leduc County · Municipal record · 2024-12-10 hearing notice
  2. December 10, 2024 Council minutes, page 3: Bylaw 18-24Leduc County · Municipal record · 2024-12-10
  3. Data centres: approval status and requirementsLeduc County · Municipal record · Updated 2026-06-26; accessed 2026-09-11
  4. Connection Project Reporting: September 2026 list, P2935Alberta Electric System Operator · Regulator · 2026-09-01
  5. Beacon Saunders Lake AI Data Center HubGovernment of Alberta Major Projects · Government database · Accessed 2026-09-11
  6. Beacon campus portfolioBeacon Data Centers · Company disclosure · Accessed 2026-09-11
  7. Beacon commits to an initial 4.5 GW Alberta portfolioBeacon AI Centers / Business Wire · Company disclosure · 2025-05-15
  8. Treaty Boundary datasetGovernment of Canada Open Government Portal · Government database · Modified 2026-06-29