Verified project profile
eStruxture CAL-3
eStruxture is building CAL-3 at 200 High Plains Common in Rocky View County. Current company materials describe 90 MW of total power, 70 MW of critical power, six Phase 1 data halls and 205,000 square feet of building area. Rocky View County published a project-specific development approval and later building-permit records confirm construction activity. CoreWeave is the announced Phase 1 anchor tenant, and eStruxture targets service in fall 2026.
Project facts
Core scale, approval, employment, and schedule information, labelled by the type of evidence available.
Total facility power
90 MWThe current data sheet's total-power rating for the completed design, not measured demand.
Sources [3]Critical power
70 MWThe power available to critical computing loads within the 90 MW total facility rating. ADCW does not add the two figures together.
Sources [3]Phase 1 building
205,000 sq. ft.The current data sheet lists 51,750 square feet of whitespace across six data halls on a 12.6-acre site.
Sources [3]Announced investment
More than CA$750 millioneStruxture's CAL-3 full-build estimate, also listed as CA$750 million by Alberta Major Projects. A later company statement describes more than CA$1 billion invested across Alberta's digital infrastructure more broadly, not a revised CAL-3-only cost.
Sources [5], [6], [4]Anchor tenant
CoreWeaveCoreWeave committed to an undisclosed portion of Phase 1 capacity for AI cloud infrastructure. eStruxture does not publish the tenant's contracted MW.
Sources [4]Phase 1 availability
Sold outAn operator claim. The remaining tenants, contracted capacity, and workload mix have not been disclosed.
Sources [2]Municipal approval
PRDP20251314Rocky View County's June 17, 2025 notice lists the data centre tenancy at 200 High Plains Common and an appeal deadline of July 8, 2025.
Sources [7]Target service
Fall 2026A company projection that remains dependent on commissioning, occupancy, utility readiness, and customer deployment.
Sources [1], [4]Energy and emissions
CAL-3's current data sheet separates 90 MW of total facility power from 70 MW of critical power available to computing equipment. Neither figure is measured operating demand.
Utility service
Multiple FortisAlberta linesThe data sheet identifies multiple 15 MW utility lines serving dedicated electrical lineups and lists Fortis as the power provider.
Sources [3]Rack density
Up to 125 kW+ per cabinetA maximum design capability for selected deployments, not the average density of every rack.
Sources [3], [1]Backup generation
Distributed redundant 2N topologyThe data sheet lists at least 24 hours of on-site fuel storage. It does not publish the generator count, installed MW, fuel type, expected testing hours, or air emissions.
Sources [3]Resilience standard
Tier III designedThe facility is designed for concurrent maintainability. The current data sheet lists Uptime Institute Tier III by Design among planned certifications; design language is not proof that final certification has been issued.
Sources [3], [1]Electricity use and emissions
Not publishedNo expected annual MWh, current load profile, project-specific supply mix, or operational greenhouse-gas estimate was found in the reviewed sources.
Sources [3], [1], [11]Water
CAL-3 uses a closed-loop system combining air and direct-to-chip liquid cooling. eStruxture says its facilities have moved away from public water for cooling, but CAL-3-specific water sources and volumes are not published. [3], [11]
Cooling design
Closed-loop air and liquid coolingCAL-3 combines air cooling with direct-to-chip liquid cooling. The mix varies by deployment density.
Sources [3]Water disclosure
CAL-3 volumes not publishedeStruxture says its facilities have moved away from public water for cooling, but it has not published CAL-3's initial-fill, top-up, withdrawal, consumption, wastewater, or discharge figures. Measured operating use is also unavailable because commercial service is not confirmed.
Sources [1], [3], [4], [11]Noise
Project-specific noise evidence is shown when it is available. A predicted sound level is not a measurement from an operating facility.
Project-specific noise evidence
Not publicly disclosedADCW's noise-specific review on August 29, 2026 did not identify a project-specific noise-impact assessment, predicted sound level at the nearest residence, or detailed mitigation plan in public sources.
Indigenous context
Data centre projects sit within treaty territories and places with longstanding First Nations and Métis connections. This section brings together the public record on treaty geography, Indigenous ownership, consultation, and community concerns. Treaty boundaries alone cannot tell us which communities may be affected or how they view a project.
Treaty geography
Treaty 7 territoryThe federal historical treaty-boundary dataset places the project area within Treaty 7. This is geographic context and does not establish project-specific consultation, effects, or community positions.
Sources [12]Approval and public process
The County development approval and later building permits establish a municipal approval and active construction trail. They do not prove that every condition is complete, that occupancy has been granted, or that the facility has begun drawing its full design power.
Development approval
PRDP20251314The County's approved-permit notice covers an office and warehouse building accommodating a data centre at Lot 12, Block 7, Plan 2410651; NE 12-26-29-W4M.
Sources [7]Public notice and appeal
Appeal deadline July 8, 2025The reviewed County search did not identify a later appeal decision. Subsequent building permits and construction records show the project continued.
Sources [7], [8], [9]New-construction permit
PRBD20255100The November 2025 County report lists 27,263 m² and an estimated construction value of CA$24.0 million at the CAL-3 address. This permit value is not the project's full capital cost.
Sources [8]Alteration permit
PRBD20258056The April 2026 County report lists 4,020 m² and an estimated construction value of CA$5.15 million at the same address. It should not be added to company investment claims without a complete cost reconciliation.
Sources [9]County policy context
CAL-3 recognized as an East Balzac developmentRocky View County publicly identified CAL-2 and CAL-3 while describing its broader approach to responsible AI data centre development.
Sources [10]Commercial service
Not yet confirmedA launch event and tenant announcement are not occupancy approval, commissioning completion, or proof of operating load.
Sources [1], [4]Timeline
Observed decisions and future dates are kept distinct; projected milestones may change.
- Proponent statement
eStruxture announced CAL-3 as a 90 MW project with more than CA$750 million planned for the full build and a second-half 2026 target. [5]
- Public record
Rocky View County published the approved development-permit notice for PRDP20251314 at 200 High Plains Common. [7]
- Public record
The County recorded new-construction Building Permit PRBD20255100 at the CAL-3 address. [8]
- Public record
The County recorded alteration Building Permit PRBD20258056 at the same address. [9]
- Proponent statement
eStruxture announced CoreWeave as the Phase 1 anchor tenant and retained a second-half 2026 service target. [4]
What we still don't know
Some details have not been made public or remain unresolved. We keep those gaps visible and update them when reliable information becomes available.
- The final commissioning, occupancy, energization, and commercial-service dates have not been confirmed.
- Current measured electricity demand, expected annual consumption, peak-load profile, utility contract, and physical generation mix are not published.
- The operator has not disclosed CoreWeave's contracted MW, the identities and capacity of other Phase 1 customers, or the final workload mix.
- The backup-generator count, installed capacity, fuel type, testing schedule, air-emissions profile, and project-specific approval requirements are not published.
- CAL-3's initial cooling-fluid fill, annual top-up, withdrawal, consumption, wastewater, and discharge volumes are not published.
- Design PUE and WUE targets, measured efficiency, and heat-reuse plans have not been disclosed in the reviewed sources.
- Final Tier III certification and the other certifications listed as planned have not been confirmed.
- The complete relationship between the CA$750-million full-build estimate, the broader CA$1-billion Alberta investment statement, and individual municipal building-permit values is not public.
- Construction and permanent employment totals, local procurement, tax revenue, and binding community-benefit commitments are not published.
- A complete project-specific Indigenous consultation or engagement record was not found in the reviewed sources.
Source record
Primary and official sources reviewed for this profile. Company disclosures support what the company said, not independent verification of future outcomes.
- CAL-3 data centre
eStruxture Data Centers · Company disclosure · Accessed 2026-08-27
- Calgary data centres
eStruxture Data Centers · Company disclosure · Accessed 2026-08-27
- CAL-3 data sheet
eStruxture Data Centers · Company disclosure · Accessed 2026-08-27
- CoreWeave announced as CAL-3 anchor tenant
eStruxture Data Centers · Company disclosure · 2026-05-14
- CAL-3 investment announcement
eStruxture Data Centers · Company disclosure · 2024-10-29
- eStruxture CAL-3 Data Centre
Government of Alberta Major Projects · Government database · Accessed 2026-08-27
- Approved development permits: June 17, 2025
Rocky View County · Municipal record · 2025-06-17
- November 2025 major construction permits
Rocky View County · Municipal record · 2025-12-04
- April 2026 major construction permits
Rocky View County · Municipal record · 2026-05-05
- Responsible AI data centre development
Rocky View County · Municipal record · 2025-09-18
- The New Homesteaders of the Digital West
eStruxture Data Centers · Company disclosure · 2026-05-07
- Treaty Boundary dataset
Government of Canada Open Government Portal · Government database · Modified 2026-06-29