Grassland and rolling hills beneath a cloudy blue sky
Evidence profile · Drumheller

Hut 8 Drumheller

An operating cryptocurrency-computing facility returned to service in Drumheller.

Illustrative landscape · Sevgi Gümüş / Pexels
← Alberta data centre project list
Developer Hut 8 Corp.View on project map ↗

Drumheller, Alberta · Map precision: Municipality centre

Hut 8 reports that the 42 MW site returned to service in March 2026 after a two-year shutdown caused by power costs and voltage issues. The rating is not measured use. Its exact address, current electricity terms, and complete approval record remain unverified here.

Listed capacity42 MWOperator rating, not measured continuous demand [1]
Measured water useNot publishedCooling, withdrawal, consumption, and discharge unconfirmed [1][2]
Sound levelsNot disclosedNo project-specific sound details in the reviewed record
Current employmentNot confirmedSite-specific jobs and community-benefit figures unresolved
Annual emissionsNot publishedSupply mix, operating pattern, and measured use unavailable [2]
Map precisionMunicipality centreExact current civic address and parcel not verified [1][4]

Where it stands

Facility statusOperatingRe-energized in March 2026 for ASIC colocation [3][2]
Equipment deploymentReported from April 2026About 11,298 miners; company-reported deployment [2]
Approval recordIncompleteOriginal municipal and current environmental requirements not assembled [1]

Separate approval tracks, not a construction progress bar. Record last verified 2026-08-21.

Want to get involved?

This is an operating site, with no current application, hearing, or appeal window established in the reviewed record. The approvals topic retains the return-to-service history and gaps in the approval trail. The map identifies Drumheller, not a verified facility parcel. See the approval and participation record ↓

Power and emissionsCampus demand, electricity supply, and emissions evidence

The reviewed records establish a 42 MW listed site capacity and the 2026 return to service, but not current measured load, electricity terms or site-specific emissions.

Important distinction: 42 MW is the operator's site-capacity listing. Re-energization confirms operation, not continuous use at the full rating.

Capacity: 42 MW. A site-capacity listing rather than a meter reading. [1] Proponent statement

2024 shutdown reason: Power costs and voltage issues. Hut 8 disclosed these reasons for keeping the site non-operational beginning in March 2024. [2] Proponent statement

Measured annual use: Not published. No current facility-specific MWh total or load profile was found. [1][2] ADCW context

Site-specific emissions: Not published. The supply mix, operating pattern and measured use needed for a defensible total were not found. [2] ADCW context

What remains unresolved

Current measured electricity use, peak demand and voltage arrangement.

The current electricity contract, tariff and supply mix.

Site-specific greenhouse-gas emissions and air-emissions reporting, if any.

Current backup generationBackup generationBackup generators provide electricity when the normal supply is unavailable. They may also run for testing or maintenance.Installed capacity does not establish continuous operation, annual fuel use, or emissions. Operating hours and permit conditions are separate evidence.Learn more →, fuel storage and battery systems.

Water, cooling, and drainageSupply, demand, wastewater, and servicing

Cooling technology: Not disclosed in reviewed current sources. [1][2] ADCW context

Measured water use: Not published. No facility-specific daily or annual withdrawalWithdrawal, consumption, and dischargeWithdrawal is water taken from a source. Consumption is the portion not returned to the same water system. Discharge is water released after use or treatment.These are different quantities. Check which one a water figure describes before comparing projects.Learn more →, consumption or discharge figure was found. [1][2] ADCW context

What remains unresolved

Cooling technology and measured water withdrawal, consumption and discharge.

Sound at nearby communitiesAssessment evidence, controls, and remaining questions

Project-specific sound evidence: Not publicly disclosed. Project-specific sound details were not found in the public sources reviewed. A predicted sound level is not a measurement from an operating facility. ADCW context

Land and site layoutSite footprint and the planning information in the record

Map precision: Municipality centre. Hut 8 and a commercial data centre directory identify Drumheller, but ADCW has not verified a current exact civic or legal address from a primary source. [1][4] ADCW context

What remains unresolved

The exact current site address and parcel.

Indigenous contextTreaty geography, engagement, and consultation evidence

Data centre projects sit within treaty territories and places with longstanding First Nations and Métis connections. Treaty boundaries alone cannot tell us which communities may be affected or how they view a project.

Treaty and Métis geography: Treaty 7 territory. The Town acknowledges the Blackfoot Confederacy, Tsuut'ina Nation, Îyârhe Nakoda Nations and Battle River Rocky View Métis District 4. This is geographic context, not a project-specific consultation record. [5] Public record

Approvals and participationSeparate decisions, public participation, and the recorded timeline

The central public-interest questions for this operating site are current performance, approval conditions and compliance. The original and current approval trail remains incomplete in this draft.

Operating status: Re-energized March 2026. Hut 8 describes the site as recommissioned for ASIC colocation. [3][2] Proponent statement

Original approvals: Not assembled in this draft. ADCW is still locating the exact site, original municipal approvals and current environmental requirements. [1] ADCW context

Recorded timeline

Observed decisions and future dates are kept distinct; projected milestones may change.

Before March 2024. The Drumheller site operated as a cryptocurrency-mining facility. [2] Proponent statement

March 2024. Hut 8 placed the site in non-operational status because of power costs and voltage issues. [2] Proponent statement

March 2026. Hut 8 re-energized the site for ASIC colocation. [3][2] Proponent statement

April 2026. The company began deploying approximately 11,298 miners. [2] Proponent statement

August 21, 2026. ADCW verified Hut 8's current public 42 MW site listing. [1] ADCW context

What remains unresolved

The complete current municipal, environmental and emergency-response approval record.

Company and commitmentsScale, projected benefits, and delivery commitments

Current workload: ASIC colocation. Hut 8's filings describe ASIC Compute primarily as cryptocurrency mining. [3][2] Proponent statement

Deployed equipment: About 11,298 miners. Hut 8 reported deployment beginning in April 2026 at approximately 3.05 EH/s. [2] Proponent statement

Project overview

Hut 8 lists its Drumheller ASIC-compute data centre at 42 MW. The facility was shut down in March 2024 because of power costs and voltage issues, then re-energized in March 2026 for ASIC colocation.

What remains unresolved

Current employment, tax and community-benefit figures.

Unresolved questions are retained within each relevant topic above.

SourcesOriginal documents and publication details

Source record

Company disclosures establish what the company said, not independent verification of projected outcomes.

  1. Hut 8 platform and operating-site capacitiesHut 8 Corp. · Company disclosure · Accessed 2026-08-21
  2. Q1 2026 filing: Drumheller re-energization and operationsU.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · Regulatory filing · 2026-05-06
  3. Hut 8 reports first-quarter 2026 resultsHut 8 Corp. · Company disclosure · 2026-05-06
  4. Hut 8 Drumheller location listingDatacenters.com · News reporting · Accessed 2026-08-21
  5. Land acknowledgementTown of Drumheller · Municipal record · Accessed 2026-08-21