Grassland and rolling hills beneath a cloudy blue sky
Evidence profile · Medicine Hat

Hut 8 Medicine Hat

An operating Bitcoin-mining facility on Box Springs Road in Medicine Hat.

Illustrative landscape · Sevgi Gümüş / Pexels
← Alberta data centre project list
Developer Hut 8 Corp.View on project map ↗

5254 Box Springs Road NW · Map precision: Exact site

Hut 8 lists the site at 67 MW. American Bitcoin operates miners under Hut 8 hosting and management agreements. Listed capacity does not establish continuous electricity use; measured power use, water demand, and the complete current approval record remain unavailable in this record.

Listed capacity67 MWOperator rating, not measured continuous demand [1]
Measured water useNot publishedCooling, withdrawal, consumption, and discharge unconfirmed [1][2]
Sound levelsNot disclosedNo project-specific sound details in the reviewed record
Current employmentNot confirmedSite-specific jobs and community-benefit figures unresolved
Annual emissionsNot publishedCapacity alone does not establish greenhouse-gas emissions [7]
LocationExact site5254 Box Springs Road NW; City parcel record [6]

Where it stands

Facility statusOperatingHut 8 platform and quarterly records [1][2]
Mining arrangementAmerican Bitcoin minersHut 8 provides hosting and operating services [3][4]
Approval recordIncompleteCurrent municipal and environmental requirements still being located [6]

Separate approval tracks, not a construction progress bar. Record last verified 2026-08-22.

Want to get involved?

This is an operating site. The reviewed record does not establish a current application, hearing, or appeal window. The approvals topic separates documented operations from the incomplete approval trail; the sources include City records and company filings. See the approval and participation record ↓

Power and emissionsCampus demand, electricity supply, and emissions evidence

The reviewed sources establish the operator-listed site capacity and operating workload, but do not provide current measured electricity use, the present supply contract or a site-specific emissions total.

Important distinction: 67 MW is Hut 8's listed site capacity. It is not proof that the facility draws 67 MW continuously.

Capacity: 67 MW. A site-capacity listing rather than a meter reading. [1] Proponent statement

Electricity supply: Municipal supply historically documented. The City describes the facility as part of its electricity-development strategy. Current contract terms and power mix were not found. [7] Public record

Measured annual use: Not published. ADCW did not find a current facility-specific MWh total or load profile. [1][2] ADCW context

Site-specific emissions: Not published. Grid or municipal supply and a capacity rating do not establish the facility's annual greenhouse-gas emissions. [7] ADCW context

What remains unresolved

Current measured electricity use and peak demand.

The current municipal electricity contract, tariff and supply mix.

Site-specific greenhouse-gas emissions and air-emissions reporting, if any.

Current backup generationBackup generationBackup generators provide electricity when the normal supply is unavailable. They may also run for testing or maintenance.Installed capacity does not establish continuous operation, annual fuel use, or emissions. Operating hours and permit conditions are separate evidence.Learn more →, fuel storage and battery systems.

Water, cooling, and drainageSupply, demand, wastewater, and servicing

Cooling technology: Not disclosed in reviewed current sources. [1][2] ADCW context

Measured water use: Not published. No facility-specific daily or annual withdrawalWithdrawal, consumption, and dischargeWithdrawal is water taken from a source. Consumption is the portion not returned to the same water system. Discharge is water released after use or treatment.These are different quantities. Check which one a water figure describes before comparing projects.Learn more →, consumption or discharge figure was found. [1][2] ADCW context

What remains unresolved

Cooling technology and measured water withdrawal, consumption and discharge.

Sound at nearby communitiesAssessment evidence, controls, and remaining questions

Project-specific sound evidence: Not publicly disclosed. Project-specific sound details were not found in the public sources reviewed. A predicted sound level is not a measurement from an operating facility. ADCW context

Land and site layoutSite footprint and the planning information in the record

Location: 5254 Box Springs Road NW. The City record identifies the current data centre parcel. [6] Public record

Indigenous contextTreaty geography, engagement, and consultation evidence

Data centre projects sit within treaty territories and places with longstanding First Nations and Métis connections. Treaty boundaries alone cannot tell us which communities may be affected or how they view a project.

Treaty and Métis geography: Treaty 7 territory. Medicine Hat also acknowledges neighbouring Treaty 4 territory and Métis District 2. This is geographic context; it is not a project-specific consultation record. [8] Public record

Approvals and participationSeparate decisions, public participation, and the recorded timeline

This is an operating facility, so the most useful missing records are its current operating approvals, environmental requirements and measured performance—not a future development projection.

Operating status: Confirmed by current operator records. Hut 8 lists the site in its current platform and quarterly filing. [1][2] Proponent statement

Operating arrangement: American Bitcoin miners; Hut 8 services. American Bitcoin operates the miners. Hut 8 provides the facility, power-related infrastructure, hosting, maintenance, management and other operating services under related-party agreements. [3][4] Public record

Property record: Current data centre parcel identified. A 2024 City report concerns a potential sale of the Box Springs Road property to Hut 8. [6] Public record

Current operating approvals: Not assembled in this draft. ADCW is still locating the original and current municipal and environmental approval trail. [6] ADCW context

Recorded timeline

Observed decisions and future dates are kept distinct; projected milestones may change.

2018. The Medicine Hat data centre entered operation under Hut 8's original municipal development arrangement. [7] Public record

April 1, 2025. American Bitcoin began operating its miners at Medicine Hat under Hut 8 colocation and management service orders. [4] Public record

March 31, 2026. Hut 8 continued to list Medicine Hat as an operating ASIC-compute site. [2] Proponent statement

June 30, 2026. American Bitcoin's quarterly filing continued to identify Medicine Hat as one of five sites where it operated Bitcoin miners. [3] Public record

August 22, 2026. ADCW verified Hut 8's current public 67 MW site listing and the documented American Bitcoin operating and ownership relationships. [1][3][4][5] ADCW context

What remains unresolved

The complete current municipal, environmental and emergency-response approval record.

Company and commitmentsScale, projected benefits, and delivery commitments

Current workload: ASIC compute. Hut 8 classifies Medicine Hat under ASIC Compute; its filings describe this segment primarily as cryptocurrency mining. [1][2] Proponent statement

Mining operator: American Bitcoin Corp.. American Bitcoin reports that it has operated Bitcoin miners at Medicine Hat under Hut 8 colocation and management agreements since April 1, 2025. [3][4] Public record

Corporate relationship: Controlled by Hut 8. American Bitcoin's 2026 proxy reports Hut 8 at 80.0% and Eric Trump at 9.3% of total voting power. The company identifies Eric Trump as co-founder and chief strategy officer and Donald Trump Jr. as senior advisor. These are interests and roles in American Bitcoin, not documented ownership of the Medicine Hat facility. [4][5] Public record

Repair operations: MicroBT-certified repair centre. Hut 8 identifies Medicine Hat as the location of its miner repair centre. [2] Proponent statement

Project overview

Hut 8 lists its Medicine Hat ASIC-compute data centre at 67 MW. American Bitcoin, a Hut 8-controlled company co-founded by Eric Trump, operates miners there.

What remains unresolved

Current employment, tax and community-benefit figures.

Unresolved questions are retained within each relevant topic above.

SourcesOriginal documents and publication details

Source record

Company disclosures establish what the company said, not independent verification of projected outcomes.

  1. Hut 8 platform and operating-site capacitiesHut 8 Corp. · Company disclosure · Accessed 2026-08-21
  2. Q1 2026 filing: Medicine Hat and Drumheller operationsU.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · Regulatory filing · 2026-05-06
  3. Q2 2026 filing: American Bitcoin mining at Medicine HatU.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · Regulatory filing · 2026-08-03
  4. 2026 proxy: American Bitcoin ownership and Hut 8 service agreementsU.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · Regulatory filing · 2026-04-24
  5. American Bitcoin company history and leadershipAmerican Bitcoin Corp. · Company disclosure · Accessed 2026-08-22
  6. 5254 Box Springs Road NW letter of interestCity of Medicine Hat · Municipal record · 2024-10
  7. Ready to expandCity of Medicine Hat · Municipal record · 2021
  8. Statement of acknowledgement, recognition and respectCity of Medicine Hat · Municipal record · Accessed 2026-08-21